The following elected officials have joined almost 800 parents, teachers, students, and community members in February to sign the petition to support Houston schoolchildren:

State Senator Borris Miles, State Senator John Whitmire, State Rep Allen, State Rep Ann Johnson, State Rep Jarvis Johnson, State Rep J Jones, State Rep Morales, State Rep-Morales Shaw, State Rep Reynolds, State Rep Rosenthal, State Rep Shawn Thierry, State Rep Wu, SBOE Trustee Staci Childs, SBOE Trustee Rebecca Bell-Metereau, Mayor Sylvestor Turner, Harris County Commissioner Adrian Garcia, Harris County Commissioner Lesley Briones, Harris County Commissioner Rodney Ellis, Houston CM Cisneros, Houston CM Evans-Shabazz, Houston CM Jackson, Houston CM Kamin, Houston CM Plummer, Houston CM Thomas, HISD Trustee Kathy Blueford-Daniels, HISD Trustee Elizabeth Santos, HISD Trustee Myrna Guidry, HCC Trustee Pretta VanDible Stallworth, HCDE Trustee Andrea Duhon, HCDE Trustee Danyahel Norris in formation

Read more about the HISD State takeover in the Forward Times in "THE FIGHT IS NOT OVER: Community advocates and stakeholders speak on potential TEA takeover of HISD."

If your elected official has not yet signed the petition, would you give them a call and ask them to do so at too? If they have, send them a thank you email for fighting for Houston schoolchildren and local control.


  • March 4th: CVPE General Meeting from 1-2:30 pm on zoom.  State takeover, lege updates, opt out and info about Lobby Day. RSVP for zoom link.
  • March 13th: Education Lobby Day. We will leave from Houston at 7 am and return at around 5pm. Limited bus seats are available. If you can caravan, let us know at [email protected]


Working Together to Strengthen Houston's Public School System